Enchiladas on the Egg? Most definitely!

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted since I haven’t made anything super different on the Egg but this will change very soon as I am thinking of a bunch of different things to make thanks in large part to my friends over at Barbecue Bible Forum. Anyhow, I had some boneless, skinless chicken thighs that were sitting in the freezer and my wife wanted some chicken enchiladas and she found a great recipe on Pinterest. Yeah, that’s a girl thing and it’s fine with me cause she finds the best things on there!

Anyhow, I seasoned the thighs with some S&P and put on the Egg at 350 or so.

Untitled

After those cooked for about an hour my wife shredded up the thighs and rolled each tortilla up with some chicken and some shredded cheese which was colby and jack.

Untitled

While she was doing that I made the Green Chili Sour Cream Sauce

Ingredients
4 oz of diced green chili
3 tbsp of Flour
3 tbsp of butter
2 cups of Chicken Broth
1 cup of sour cream

Directions

1.) Melt butter and put in flour cook for one minute
2.) Pour in chicken broth and make sure it’s smooth with the flour/butter mixture
3.) Add in the chilis and sour cream and stir to make smooth but DO NOT boil it…Nobody wants curdled up sour cream
4.) Pour over the tortillas
5.) Place more shredded cheese over the sauce and enchiladas
6.) Put on Egg at around 350 (I’d probably crank the heat up next time to around 400 or so to really get that cheese golden brown like I like it)

Here is what the enchiladas looked like with first the sour cream mixture

Untitled

We added the shredded cheese over the mixture

Untitled

I put it on the Egg and it was at around 350. Like I said earlier I’d probably crank the heat up even more

Untitled

There is the finished product. Overall it was very good. I would have preferred more heat but when cooking for everyone else I have to draw back on the heat. It was very filling especially with some black beans and spanish rice on the side.

Thanks for following!

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Chicken and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

