Pizza Night on the Egg

One of the great things that the Big Green Egg can do is make pizza. I was low on fuel today so I did not get it up to the temp I normally do for pizzas which is right around 600 but 500 was just fine just took a little longer. You can see the lump just glowing!

Like I said I was low on fuel today so normally the lump will go up even higher but you gotta do what you gotta do sometimes, right?

My setup for the pizza is platesetter legs down and these little green legs that you get when you get the Egg that I don’t need because of my table which I learned from my buddy Griffin on one of my BBQ forums which helps elevate the pizza stone so it evenly heats. I preheat the stone for about 30 minutes at my desired temp.

Anyhow, I make homemade dough that I found on nakedwhiz.com website and I put the ingredients in my breadmaker and let it do it’s magic. I shred the mozzarella as one thing I’ve found is that buying the blocks of cheese as opposed to the pre-shredded cheese is that the blocks when shredded don’t taste gritty like the pre-shredded do. I read somewhere that’s it’s due to being pre-shredded and they have to keep it fresh long. And my family will agree the blocks of cheese just taste better and they are the same price as the pre-shredded. I am not the one to roll out the dough and make it into a circular form that is definitely a talent my wife has so she takes over on the dough and puts the sauce on. Today we just went with simple cheese pizza. We place the pizza on parchment paper and sprinkle that with some garlic salt just to give the crust some more flavor. I’ve found that putting it on the parchment paper does not create the nightmare that the pizza peel gave me of getting it off and onto the pizza stone. So I just let the parchment get cooked for a bit and then lift away from the pizza when the dough easily separates.

Normally if the grill is at 600-650 a pizza will take maybe 10 minutes tops but since we were running a little cooler it took longer but still the end results were still fantastic.

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Cheese Pizza, Pizza and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

