Apple Smoked Pork Loin and Roasted Potatoes

One of the few nights that I was home at a relative decent hour and didn’t have to take Peyton to a sporting event I decided it’d be the perfect time to make a pork loin on the egg. Lisa had gotten a 4 lb pork loin awhile back and I knew it would be perfect for dinner and later on for sandwiches during the week. I thought to myself what should I use as a rub as we just had pork chops on Sunday so wanted it to be different for sure. I used some extra virgin olive oil, diced up garlic, fresh rosemary, dried basil, salt, pepper and some cow lick dizzy rub. If you have never tried dizzy rubs I highly recommend them. I combined those ingredients to make a paste like rub and slathered it all over the pork loin.

I let the Egg stabilize at 350 for an indirect cook. I also used some apple wood to impart some even more flavor. I really like cherry and apple with pork.

For the side I took about 8 potatoes and sliced them length wise very thin. I took a piece of tinfoil and rubbed butter in a square shape to layer the sliced potatoes out on. I sprinkled the potatoes with some basil, salt, pepper and some of the dizzy rub I used on the pork. I then sprinkled some parmesan and asiago cheese on the potatoes and wrapped up in tinfoil.

Once the pork hit internal temp of 150 I pulled it off the egg. It took roughly 90 minutes for it to come to that temp. Keep in mind that you don’t want to overcook this or pork chops and you can actually take them off earlier then 150 but Lisa is still leary about a lot of pink in her pork. FDA now says you can pull pork at a temp of 145 where it used to be 160. Really people do not OVERCOOK your pork. Enjoy it and to truly enjoy it cook it to medium.

Here you can see the presliced loin.

We let it rest for about 15 minutes which is very important to do with any cut of meat. Let those juices redistribute for you. We sliced thin and the meat was tender you could cut it with a fork.

Here is a finished picture of the potatoes which I would’ve liked crispier but they were still fantastic. And the kids loved them!

Overall, we ate about half of the loin and almost all of the potatoes but the rest of the loin made for great sandwiches the rest of the week.

Now tonight will be date night with the wife and I’m going to make some flat iron steak, some grilled artichoke and some sort of potato. You better believe there will be pictures.

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Pork, Pork Loin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

