Steak that’s what is for dinner!

With our 7 year old daughter off to a sleep over and my boys keeping each other busy playing some PS3 it was the perfect night to have a date night with my wife. Lisa and I don’t get to spend much time together and I really wish we had more times like this. It’s also been eons since I’ve made a steak on the Egg. We went to Joe’s Butcher Shop which has fabulous meat and got 2 10 oz flat iron steaks. The day started off great as my loyalty to Joe’s was rewarded and I got 6 bucks off the steak. SCORE!!!!!

I lit the lump and let the egg get up to around 700 almost 725 to sear these steaks. I seasoned my steak with some Cow Lick Dizzy Rub and then Lisa’s was just simple Sea Salt and Pepper. Don’t be afraid to really let the meat taste come through and not over season the steak.

Here is a picture of them ready to be put on the scorching hot Egg.

You can see how hot this Egg was with the looks of these coals! At one point in time I forgot to “burp” the egg enough and had a horrible backdraft which luckily for me I stand far away enough when opening it otherwise I might’ve lost all the hair on my arms.

Once the steak was done to about Medium Rare Plus for me and Medium for Lisa they were taken off the grill. We let the steak rest for about 7 minutes. Remember to always let your steaks rest. We served it with some baked potatoes and some Sangria Lisa made from Pinterest. It’s her new obsession and hey the Sangria was fantastic! More please!

We also made a compound butter of some real butter and chopped up some fresh basil and mixed the two together. We used this as a topping for the steak!

Overall it was a great night and I can’t wait till our next date night. Hey Lisa can you bring the Sangria again 🙂

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Beef, Steak and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Steak that’s what is for dinner!

  1. UMAi DrybagSteak says:

    The topping looks really nice!

Leave a Reply

