Turtle Eggs..The Ultimate Snack

No it’s not really turtle eggs but…

Awhile back I had made some Turtle Eggs mainly cause the BBQ forum I am on was just blowing up with posts regarding them and I was looking for something new to make. Thanks to my friend Griffin who started the latest craze.

It’s an easy recipe that you use breakfast sausage, cheese, cream cheese, all purpose BBQ rub and 2 jalapenos. I was worried that using 2 might too much for my family so I withheld one of them but later wished I had used both of them.

Ingredients

1 lb of Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sausage cut into 10 or 11 slices
1/2 cup of cream cheese
1/2 cup of shredded cheese (any kind would suffice)
1 1/2 tsp All-Purpose BBQ Rub
2 Jalapenos seeded and finely diced

Cooking Instructions
Set your smoker to about 250 adding whatever kind of wood you want to use. I used apple but only cause I really love the flavor apple imparts on pork.

Mix the cream cheese, shredded cheese, diced jalapenos and 1/2 tsp of the BBQ rub
Put about 1 tsp of the cream cheese mixture on each slice of sausage and pull up the sides and form into a ball.
Season the eggs with more of your BBQ rub
Smoke the eggs for about 90 minutes.

Untitled

Here is a picture with the cream cheese mixture on the sausage

Untitled

Here they are on the Big Green Egg. I thought I sealed them pretty well but some cheese did get out. I haven’t seen a “perfect” sealed egg yet so maybe it’s just the way of the Egg!

Untitled

And finally the money shot! My family loved these and my wife requested them the next day for Mothers Day in her breakfast skillet! They were so good!

Untitled

Let me tell you if you are searching for that one appetizer this is the one to make! I encourage you to make plenty though as they will go fast!

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turtle Eggs..The Ultimate Snack

  1. griffinsgrub says:

    Thanks, but all the credit should really go to Chris at Nibble Me This (http://www.nibblemethis.com/2012/03/moink-balls-armadillo-eggs-and-sea.html), that’s where I first say them. I haven’t figured out how to seal them up perfectly yet, but they still come out pretty tasty.

Leave a Reply

