Pulled Pork Saturday

It was a beautiful day in the upper 70’s and sunny so what a perfect day to sit outside by the Egg and just pass time while smoking a pork shoulder.  Well the great thing about the Egg is you don’t have to babysit it as I was able to run errands for about 4 hours of the cook and let the Egg maintain it’s temperature.  Every time I cook with my Egg I fall more in love with it!  Anyhow back to the actual cook itself not my romance with my Egg.   I had a little less than a 5 lb shoulder and rubbed it liberally with Dizzy Pig All Purpose BBQ rub.  I didn’t do this overnight as it was completely thawed the night before and I haven’t noticed a true difference between letting it sit overnight or just doing it right before.

Pulled Pork with the Dizzy Pig All Purpose BBQ Rub

After getting my egg stabilized around 250 I put some pecan chunks in there. I can’t describe how much I love the smell of pecan smoke because it just smells so good in the air. Anyhow, I put the shoulder on and then took some time out to run some errands. That’s a great thing about the Egg is that I don’t have to babysit cause I know it’s not going to jump in temps unlike some of other smokers I’ve had. Here is a picture about 2 hours into the smoke and an internal temp of about 160

After about 2 hours on the Egg

Now this is where the battle of wills started to take place. I have never seen a little piece of meat so stubborn in it’s stall. The temp got up to about 172 and literally didn’t budge for 4 hours. I’ve never seen something so little be so stubborn outside of my 3 children. People were starting to get hungry and trying to explain to hungry people that “It’s done when it’s done” was not a sufficient answer. I then decided to do something I normally would not have done and that’s foil the meat. I prefer my bark all around as opposed to not just one side but hey it was what everyone else wanted.

So after about an hour and a half or so in the foil the temp finally got to a suitable 190. I normally will take my shoulder off around 200 because it makes that much easier to pull but the results were still fantastic.

Pork done and before being pulled.

We let the pork rest for about 30 minutes and my wife started to pull the shoulder apart. It was nice and juicy with an amazing smoke ring.

Pulled apart

Here is a plated picture. It was served with some homemade cole slaw, some quinoa from Whole Foods and some other salads as well. My pork which is pictured was topped with a sauce called “Palmetto Juice” I received this from one of my buddies DyalSC on a BBQ forum I frequent. And this sauce was simply amazing. The others used my homemade BBQ sauce cause they prefer their sauce to be sweet.

Plated Picture

Here is a recipe for my homemade BBQ sauce it’s a variation of Neely’s BBQ Sauce

2 cups ketchup
1 cup water
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
5 tbsp brown and white sugar
Black pepper (as much as you want)
1/2 tablespoon of ground mustard and onion powder
1 tablesppoon of lemon juice
1 tablespoon of worsteshire sauce

That’s the base of the sauce and I add a few things here and there depending on my mood. Remember this is a sweet sauce but you could definitely make it hotter if you desired.

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Pork, Pulled Pork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pulled Pork Saturday

  1. griffinsgrub says:

    Mmmm, mmm, good. Been too long since I’ve done a pork shoulder. Yours looks spot on.

Leave a Reply

