Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie

Let me preface this by saying I’m not the baker in the family but the Egg has me convinced I could do it and do it quite well. Actually the Egg has me convinced I can cook about anything in it and it comes out tasting fabulous! Anyhow, I decided to try my hand at some baking last night and after reading about one of my buddies on a BBQ forum, Griffin and his Pecan Pie it looked heavenly so I figured I’d give it a shot.

Ingredients
1 cup dark or light corn syrup (I used light cause that’s what I had on hand)
3 eggs beaten
1/4 cup of Bourbon
1 cup of firmly packed brown sugar
2 tbsp of flour
5 tbsp of melted butter
1 cup of chopped pecans
1 cup of chocolate chips
1 9 inch pie

How to set up the Egg
1.) Get your Egg up to about 400
2.) Put the platesetter legs down
3.) Rest the pie on the green feet (if you don’t have them try to contact your retailer for them)
4.) Cook until pie filling is set

Cooking Directions
1.) Mix first 6 ingredients well into a mixing bowl getting rid of all lumps in brown sugar and flour
2.) Add pecans and chocolate chips and mix well
3.) Pour ingredients into pie
4.) Cook for 45 minutes to an hour or until pie is set

Here is the picture of all ingredients combined

Ingredients Mixed In

Poured the ingredients into the pie shell

Pie Shell

I made sure my Egg was at a stable 400 degrees and then placed the pie on the little green feet

On the Egg

This is after about 1 hour and 10 minutes or so. The pie came out looking gorgeous…

Done!

Honestly, you should probably wait to eat the pie and let it cool down but who am I kidding I’ve never been one with patience when it comes to dessert. I just had to have a piece and so I did….

Sliced up!

So my kids each had a bite of it and fell in love…Even my daughter who said “ick, I don’t like Pecans” and then she said “I want more” So we have a lot left for tonight and can’t wait to dig into it throughout the day cause I can guarantee it won’t make it much longer every time I open up the fridge!

This dessert was so amazing it now opens up more avenues for me on the Egg. Honestly, if my posts and some of my other friends posts have not convinced you to buy an Egg you are truly missing out. Get rid of your gasser, your one dimensional smoker and get a Big Green Egg.

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie, Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie

  1. griffinsgrub says:

    Love that pie. So tasty and rich and delicious. Now I’m craving it.

Leave a Reply

