Grilled Chicken with Grilled Veggies and Grilled Mangos

Recently I was lucky enough to come across a new Dizzy Pig Rub which is Pineapple Head and I have yet to try it but it smelled so good that I know I needed to and soon. So earlier this week I figured we’d get some zucchini, some yellow squash and some mangos and liberally sprinkle them with the Pineapple Head rub. While we were going the healthy route I’d figure we’d grill up some chicken breasts and eat super good that night. Let me tell you something. These chicken breasts are ridiculously big so we had to slice them in half thickness wise to make them thinner and give us more pieces for the 5 of us.

I sliced the zucchini and yellow squash downwards and sprinkled liberally with the Pineapple Head. I had bought pre-sliced mangos so that saved me some time and tossed them around in the rub as well.

Veggies

Mangos

I got my Egg to about 350 and put my cast iron grate on and preheated that for a bit and then put my veggies on. These don’t take long at all maybe 5 minutes tops but I know that for my kids to eat them they needed to be even softer so we left them on a bit longer. The cool thing about the pineapple head rub since it had cinnamon in the rub was that it was having some fun sparks while cooking and made the deck smell fantastic while cooking.

Veggies

After I took the veggies off I put them on a plate with some tinfoil over them to retain their heat and put the mangos on the grill. Let me tell you the flavor of the rub combined with the grilling of the sweet mango really made the mangos even sweeter. They were superb and I plan on making more of these even more than grilled pineapple.

Grilled Mangos

I let those go on the grill till they got some nice char marks on them and they felt softer to the touch as well.

I then put the chicken breasts on and since they were so thin they didn’t take long to cook and I brought them to a temp of 160 and rested them which I knew the temp wouldn’t be more than 165 so as not to loose any juiciness from the chicken breast itself. Too many people cook chicken too long and it loses it’s natural juices and becomes dry and nobody likes a dry chicken or any type of meat.

Grilled Chicken

After it got to the temp I let the chicken rest and then started to plate everyones dish. The meal was simple, filling and healthy well that is until I brought out the pie….

Plated Pic

I know, I know, I know I was doing so well and my daughter kept even saying that “we are eating so healthy daddy” Well I guess I had to ruin that but nobody complained when I brought this out for them….

Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie

Yep, I made one earlier in the day cause I absolutely love the pie and could literally eat it the moment it comes off the Egg. For the recipe and directions for the pie look on my previous blog entry soley dedicated to it!

Also, to those of you who have not liked my facebook page please do so!

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Chicken, Grilled Chicken Breasts, Grilled Chicken Breasts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grilled Chicken with Grilled Veggies and Grilled Mangos

  1. griffinsgrub says:

    I need to get me some of that pineapple rub.

  2. eddiek76 says:

    It really is a nice rub especially on veggies. I despised zucchini until I had it with that rub and I literally could’ve kept eating them….The mangos were ridiculous with it on! I need to try Raging River!

Leave a Reply

