Jucy Lucy Night

I have been promising my oldest son for the longest time that I’d make some Jucy Lucy’s again and finally that promise came to truth a few nights ago. For those of you not familiar with Jucy Lucy’s they are cheese stuffed burgers and it’s origin is in Minneapolis. The thought of melted cheese and fatty ground beef puts me over the top and let me tell you this time I sealed them up about as well as I think I could!

The first order of business is to separate your meat. I had to packages of 1.5 lb ground beef and then rolled up about 5 balls of meat. I then divided each ball into half and made them thin as I could while still have some type of width to the meat. I then quartered off one slice of American cheese and put it on one of the patties.

Patty

I then sealed them well making sure both patties were of equal size. I then put them in the freezer for about 30 minutes just so they could firm up when being put back on the Egg.

In the meantime I preheated my Egg to about 400 over some of my Wicked Good Charcoal that I just love!

The burgers were topped with some Raising the Steaks rub from Dizzy Pig which gives off an excellent flavor.

Before the Egg

They went on the Egg at 400

On the Egg

I really didn’t move them around at all. I didn’t want to interfere with the sealing of the burger so I let them cook about 9 minutes on the first side and then flipped.

I didn’t really lose much cheese but next time I will seal them even better and maybe keep them in the freezer a bit longer to really firm them up.

First Side Done

After another 8 minutes or so I took them off and then I took my bite…And the taste of just absolute juiciness raced through my mouth and I realized what I have been missing this entire time….

Bite

I think next time I might try some other types of cheeses but also maybe add another slice as well. I’m thinking a pepper jack with a creamy texture to it would melt quite well.

So next time when you are making your burgers try something different and you may just never go back to regular topped burgers.

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Beef, Jucy Lucy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

