Piri Piri Wings

It was football Sunday and one thing my family likes to do is just graze all day on appetizers whenever possible for football games. Instead of writing about all the appetizers we had I’m going to focus on quite possibly the best tasting wings I’ve ever had which were the Piri Piri wings. A few of my buddies on the BBQ forum have been making them quite often and I thought I’d give them a try. I mean they have hot sauce so why wouldn’t I, right?

This recipe comes from a guy who really got me going on the hobby and that’s Steven Raichlen. The recipe calls for a minimum time of marinating these wings for 6 hours and as much as 24 hours. Obviously the more time you devote the better flavor. I was way too lazy to marinate the night before after Notre Dame beat up on Michigan so before I went to Church on Sunday I marinated them and they were in the marinade for about 9 hours.

Marinading the Wings

The marinade that I used
The original recipe from Raichlen can be found here

http://www.primalgrill.org/recipe_details.asp?RecipeID=149&EpisodeID=37

1/2 Cup of Crystal’s Hot Sauce
6 Cloves of Garlic
1 Small Onion
1/4 cup of chopped cilantro
1/4 cup of vegetable oil
3 inch piece of fresh ginger
1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice
2 teaspoons of salt
1 teaspoon of pepper

Combine all those in a food processor or a blender and make a puree out of them. After you have cut the tips off the wings and separated the flat from the drumette place in a freezer bag and pour marinade in for a minimum of 6 hours.

After those have marinated for your desired time toss them around in some corn starch to give it a nice crunch exterior. Preheat your egg for a temp of 375-400 on indirect using wood if you want. I used hickory.

On the Egg

I let them go for about 45 minutes to an hour once I felt they had a nice crunch exterior and I flipped halfway through the cooking time.

Here they are fresh off the Egg

Off the Egg

You then toss them around in the glaze that you just made on…

The glaze consists of

1/2 stick of salted butter
3 tablespoons of fresh chopped cilantro
2 cloves of garlic minced
3 tablespoons of the hot sauce you used (in my case it was Crystal’s)
2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice

You’ll melt the butter and after melted combine the cilantro and garlic into the butter. Do not burn the garlic but cook until aromatic which is around 2 minutes or os. Then put in the hot sauce and lemon juice and simmer for another 2 minutes or so. Then take the hot glaze and pour over done wings and toss them around.

Tossed in Glaze

Trust me these flavors of the wings were fantastic and I could see using this marinade on many other cooks as well. It had heat to it but I didn’t find it overwhelming at all. My 4 year old son loved them

Carter

I really hope you try this recipe for next football appetizers! Trust me you might not want to have wings any other flavor!

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Piri Piri Wings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Piri Piri Wings

  1. Dyal_SC says:

    One of my favorites! Nice job, Eddie!

  2. eddiek76 says:

    Thanks bud! They certainly are so flavorful!

  3. griffinsgrub says:

    Great job, Eddie. Gonna have to try the cornstarch trick. If you can ever find Nando’s piri-piri sauce to use instead of Crystal’s, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

