Butter Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies

They always talk about athletes going into slumps well recently I found out that can convert over to cooking as well. I was really in a slump and not feeling inspired on anything to cook. The kids were off of school on Monday and I thought what a better way to break out of it by making some sweets! We looked in the pantry and saw some pecans, chocolate chips and there was my inspiration. My daughter and I decided we would make some cookies on the Egg. However, some of the best plans don’t come with much thought as I was missing some key things such as a circular cookie tray but improvisation was in order as we just covered up the pizza stone in some tinfoil.

Anyhow, back to the cooking…..

8 ounces of butter (should be 2 sticks)
1 1/2 cups of chopped pecans
2 1/3 cups of flour
3/4 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of salt
1 cup of light brown sugar tightly packed
1/4 cup of granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla
2 large eggs
1 cup of chocolate chips

First thing is you’ll want to melt down the butter in a pan and after that is done pour into your mixing bowl

Melting the Butter

After you pour it into the mixing bowl you will have some reserve butter in the pan. Pour your finely chopped pecans in there and stir them around in the butter. Keep them on the pan until they become aromatic and slightly brown in color.

Pecans

Once the butter is cooled add the brown sugar and granulated sugar and beat well. Then beat in the eggs and vanilla until well blended. After that slowly beat in the flour, baking soda and salt until well blended. After that is complete add in the pecans and chocolate chips and toss around.

Preheat your Egg to 375 or if using an oven 350. If using an Egg I recommend having the platesetter legs down and using the green holding things that come with the egg to hold the circular cookie tray you are using. As you can see by my picture here is my improvised cookie tray.

Cookies on the Egg

I watched them until they were brown on the edges but still soft in the middle and removed. Honestly, when they are cooking on the Egg I look more than by time because it’s just a little different then cooking in the oven. Plus my daughter kinda just scooped and placed and there were no measurements for the cookies. Here you can see the first batch of cookies which came out perfect.

First Batch Done

Some people ask if you can taste the smokiness from cooking on the Egg. I make sure I really have the lump burning for a while to get rid of the smoke and also I use a non-woodsy type of lump. I use Wicked Good Charcoal Weekend Warrior blend. I love this lump. It lasts a long time, doesn’t spark and comes with lots of big chunks in there!

These cookies were fabulous and the recipe is supposed to make 4 dozen but seeing as how my daughter didn’t really spoon them equally we had about 3 dozen. They were gone in 2 days! Kids loved them and they didn’t want to admit that they liked them since baking is usually my wifes job.

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Butter Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

