Easter Ham

Wow, it’s been a long time since I last updated but I expect that the posts will be coming more often now that the weather is starting to warm up and we are spending more and more time outside. With Easter being yesterday my wife and I tried to figure out what to make for dinner. Her mom was over for the weekend and we knew that nobody likes Lamb and while not a huge lover of ham my wife just said to go with it. I looked around on the Big Green Egg forum for a good recipe and everyone was recommending Egret’s Ham. Looked over the ingredients and outside of the pure maple syrup I had everything that was needed so we decided to go with that.

    Ingredients

10-12 lb Butt or Shank Portion precooked Ham
Inject the Ham with Pure Maple Syrup until it starts to shoot out

    Maple Bourbon Paste

2 tbls Maple
2 tbls of fresh black pepper
2 tbls of Dijon Mustard
1 tbls of bourbon
1 tbls of vegetable oil
1 tbls of paprika
1 tbls of onion powder
1 teaspoon of kosher or sea salt

Apply the paste all over the outside and put in fridge overnight. We put ours in there for about 16 hours or so. You want a precooked ham but not spiral sliced and if you can find one that’s not been smoked already that’s even better. However, we could not find one everything was hickory smoked.

As you can see my daughter attempting to put bunny ears over the ingredients. Her explanation “It’s Easter, Daddy”

My daughter applied the paste and did a great job!

Came home from Church and cleaned out the Egg and then got the temp up to about 300. Recommended temp is 250 for an even longer smoke absorption, however, I wasn’t so worried about that as I was getting the Ham done in time for dinner. I put some apple chunks on the Egg and the Ham went on for an indirect cook.

The Ham took a little while to initially start increasing in temp but once it did it went by fast. Here is a pic at internal temp of 90 degrees and the smell was amazing. My mother in law commented that she just wanted to stand outside all afternoon cause the smell was so good. I must admit the smell was intoxicating.

Once the Ham was up to 140 internal we took it off and let it rest while we got the other sides ready. Remember since it’s precooked you are just warming up the meat itself.

This was the best ham I’ve ever had. My wife even said “Best ham ever and I could have this at other times as well.” The bark was amazing and I can’t wait for sandwiches throughout the week. Just because you buy a precooked ham doesn’t mean you have to stop there with the preparation. THere are many things you can do besides just putting in the oven and warming up the ham. Make it special!

About eddiek76

Love to use my Big Green Egg. Love sports, and coaching them. Love God, Jesus Christ, my wife and 3 kids!
This entry was posted in Easter Ham, Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

